Skip to Navigation Skip to Content

Day 4: Culteuchar and Dron

Thu 1st August

Culteuchar and Dron

Culteuchar and Dron

Last edited: 25th May

This is the fastest and most open area being used for Strathearn 2019.  There is a mix of open grazed moorland and some areas of heather with only the longest courses reaching the more dense conifer plantations with their intricate ride systems.  There are numerous line features (ruined walls, fences, footpaths and ditches) and some fields with sheep and cattle (out of bounds) as well as enclosures for rearing birds (to be avoided).  All courses finish through a mixed area of woodland.


Strathearn 2019: Main Day Officials - Day 4 Culteuchar Hill & Dron

Organising Clubs: CLYDE, INT, EUOC & AROS.
Organiser: Rachel Wilson (CLYDE)
Asst.Organiser: TBC
Planners: Max Carcas & Robin Galloway (INT)
Controller: Brian Porteous (FVO)
Asst.Controller: Paul Caban (INT)

Castle Law, Forgandenny, adjacent to Culteuchar Hill, is a fine example of a hill fort and courses will enjoy views from here on their way to the more afforested area of West Dron Hill. Previous events have included the Scottish Orienteering League.

There are multiple landowners including the Dupplin Estate (Lord Forteviot), Ardargie Mains and Glenearn and thanks go to them and local farmer/shepherd Mike Blanche.

The access agreement for Day 4 on Thursday 1st August 2019 is such that there must be absolutely NO DOGS even in cars at this Race.

Categorised under: Day 4

Map sample

Map sample